h1

2009 in lazy review

December 31, 2009

The Curmudgeon on (well, hovering above, actually) the Steepest Street In The World – Baldwin St, Dunedin, NZ. Splendid photo courtesy of the nice chap we were staying with and being toured around by.

It’s the last day of the year! The laziest journalism in the world is to make lists of the year in review! Here I go!

It’s been an annus magnificus* for me although it started poorly…

There was me cutting off the tip of my finger on New Year’s Eve and having to go to the emergency room.

Then there were grandparental deaths for both Curmudgeon and I.

Then there were the horrors of the February bushfires with much time spent glued to the media, aghast at the death and destruction and terrified about the safety of my Ma who lives in the country.

But then, things began to turn around.

First there was the arrival of Hank the Tank, a magnificent vessel bringing glad tidings to my parched garden. And yes, the garden is looking grand. Before today’s 35°C roasting I was able to go out there and give it all a good soak. Yay for Hank!

Then in March, a year and a half of professional misery (oh, the drama) ceased. I cried a river of relief when I found another job – one that has turned out to be just splendid. And that’s kinda set the tone for the rest of the year. I fossicked around in skips and hard rubbish (sometimes doing battle on the streets). I learnt to crochet. I complained about my back. I met Adam Elliot. I had a bike accident and was OK. Got visited by an American. Settled, once and for all, which state has the best gingernuts. You know, the usual stuff.

Happy new year, y’all.

*Cumudgeon just interrupted with “ain’t never seen annus like dat” paraphrasing a magnificent piece of graffiti he spotted on a power pole behind St Vincent’s Hospital, scrawled in white-out.
Leave a Reply

