h1

Funny mummy

January 17, 2011

My Ma was, and is, a splendid mum. When we kids were whippersnappers, she had a series of phrases that could send us into hysterics. We’d laugh and laugh and get her to say them again and again. We thought she was the funniest person in the word. They included:

“Same to you with brass knobs on.”

Hootsman Hoots mon!  There’s a moose loose aboot this hoose!”   **UPDATE: Vetti found this song! Check the comments….

And I seem to remember a character called Esmerelda Kafoops, who popped into my head this morning and sparked this nostalgic hilarity.

6 comments

  1. We had a character in our house called Jeremy Blastfart. He visited all too regularly.


    • I think I know where he lives these days.


  2. Hoots Mon was a novelty song of the 50s by the band Lord Rockingham’s XI


    • Oh my goodness, would you look at that?! Thanks!

      Just as good as when we discovered the Curmudgeon’s dad’s silly song, ‘Mairsy dotes’, was a real song!


  3. My sister and I used to make our mum do her scottish dancing (over the crossed swords). As she couldn’t remember any of the steps, picture your mum capering madly around the lounge kicking wildly at random. Or my mum, as it were.


    • I like it. I imagine your mum to be much as I know you to be – very funny, digital and composed of pixels.



Leave a Reply

