h1

Makin’ patterns

February 24, 2010

Am awfully excited about my patternmaking course that starts tomorrow. It promises to solve all my garment-construction iss-yews (much like the IKEA catalogue promises to solve all your storage problems when actually the problem is that you have too much shit) because at the end of the five weeks, you come away with basic block patterns custom-made to suit all your non-standard components. In my case, I have to alter every pattern I use drastically because I’m very tall and very much shaped like a human A-frame:

I don’t have shingles, though.

Once I have my block patterns, so long as I don’t significantly expand or contract in girth, I can whip up all kinds of crazy couture that I know will fit. And won’t need altering. Hurrah.

Leave a Reply

